Calendar School Store
@SHHSHearts on Twitter SHHS on Facebook SHHS on Facebook SHHS YouTube Channel SHHS Vimeo Channel The Forum Flickr

Sacred Heart to Honor Ten at Annual Awards Dinner

Home / News / Alumni / Sacred Heart to Honor Ten at Annual Awards Dinner

2015 SH Award Winners 1

2015 SH Award Winners 2


Sacred Heart High School will honor 10 school supporters and community advocates at its 21st annual Awards Dinner on Nov. 2 at the Aqua Turf in Southington.

This year’s dinner is underwritten in part by “gold sponsor” Moore, O’Brien, & Foti, along with “maroon” and “gold” sponsors, Winzz Gas n’ Go; Ultimate Services; Carmody, Torrance, Sandak & Hennessey; Dennis Uniform; Loehmann Blasius Chevrolet Cadillac; Apex International Education Partners; and M.J. Fahy & Sons. Proceeds support student programming and the scholarship assistance program which annually awards more than $680,000.

The Hartford Archdiocese’s oldest Catholic high school, Sacred Heart has graduated more than 12,000 in nine decades.

The hallmark of Sacred Heart has always been and continues to be, the spirited selflessness of its families and volunteers, according to a press release issued by Sacred Heart. It is in this spirit of generosity that Sacred Heart celebrates this year’s honorees, reads a portion.

The Rev. Jeffrey V. Romans, Pastor of St. Bridget’s Church, will be presented with the Rev. John J. Fitzgerald Lifetime Achievement Award. Father Romans is being honored for “his passionate commitment to the value of Catholic education and as someone who has given selflessly of himself for the benefit of others,” reads the release.

Attorney Stephanie Cummings, a 2005 graduate and Waterbury alderman, will receive the Marcia Galvin Brayton Alumni Award. This award is presented to Stephanie for “her continuing support and commitment to helping to further the mission of Sacred Heart High School and for her dedication and commitment to the City of Waterbury.”

Attorney James and Deborah Dowling Mulhall, class of 1976 and Watertown residents, will receive the Rev. John Blanchfield Family Spirit Award. “Because of the school’s belief in the importance of family life, this award is presented to Jim and Debbie for their dedicated efforts in enhancing the spirit and mission of Sacred Heart.”

Attorney Adrienne Dean Parkmond, a graduate of Sacred Heart’s class of 1986 and a Waterbury resident, will be presented with the Rev. Cornelius Teulings Community Service Award for “her dedication and commitment to public service, as well as for her personal and professional qualities which serve as fine examples for the students of Sacred Heart.”

Penny A. Leisring, a graduate of Sacred Heart’s class of 1989 and a resident of Waterbury, will receive the Monsignor James G. Coleman Award. “Dr. Leisring is being recognized for the success she has attained in her professional career which serves as a reflection on the preparation she received while a student at the Heart.”

Raymond Coughlin, a graduate of the class of 1963 and a Waterbury resident, will be presented with the Rev. John Dial Leadership Award for “his commitment and leadership support in helping to further the mission of Sacred Heart High School.”

Todd Nugai, of Watertown, a 1991 graduate, will receive the Sisters of Mercy Public Service Award “for his dedication in serving his community as a member of the Waterbury Fire Department and for his commitment in helping to protect the citizens of the City of Waterbury.”

Nazih Noujaim, a Prospect resident and 1982 graduate, will receive the Rev. John Meaney Community Impact Award “to recognize the impact that our legacy families have on their communities, their families, as well as the Greater Waterbury community.”

Jody Baker, a special education teacher for city parochial schools who died in July at age 59, will receive the Dom Giallello Award “for the impact he had on the students of Sacred Heart and its school community as our special education teacher, and for his immeasurable commitment and dedication he had for our students.”